• Riders brave the wet

    CYCLING STARS: Local cyclists (clockwise from left) Nicci Clark, Rory Ellet and Clancy Ellet battled the wet conditions on the road.

    WET and cold conditions didn’t deter Victoria’s junior racing cyclists from competing in the state championships in Wangaratta on the weekend of August 1-2.

    While the weather looked promising on Friday, Saturday was a different story with consistent rain all day.

    Saturday’s time trial was on the Old Hume Highway just south of Glenrowan and featured a short, steep uphill finish.

    The first riders to start off were the under 11s with riders aged 8-10 racing the 4km individual time trial.

    Three young Wangaratta Cycling Club (WCC) riders, all in their first championship, raced against the clock.

    Clancy Ellet from Beechworth was the best placed in sixth with a time of 9:41, followed closely by Oliver Hall from Benalla with a time of 9:47 with Anthony Metcraft from Wangaratta with a time of 10:03.

    Bendigo’s Marcus Walker won with a time of 8:25.

    The under 13s were the next to leave on their 8km time trial.

    Riley Corke rode a good time as a first year under 13 to finish with a time of 16:39, while Mitchell Hobbs clocked in at 19:06.

    Races become ultra-competitive in the under 15 division with 29 boys contesting the 10km time trial.

    Nick Metcraft and Rory Ellett are both in the younger end of the age group, and for Rory it was his first championships.

    Nick finished with a time of 20:28 and Rory 21:25.

    Also from Wangaratta was Angus McLean who is at the top end and very competitive.

    Angus has raced all of the Junior Road Series and was second in the overall aggregate.

    In a tight finish for the time trial he won a bronze medal with a time of 15:34.

    In the under 17 men, Alex Little is in his first year in the age group, finished the 14km time trial with a time of 24:12, while Abby Gray finished in fifth place with a time of 17:55 in the women’s 10km time trial.

    Nicci Clark raced the 14km time trial in the under 19 women’s field.

    Being in year 12 at Beechworth Secondary College, her training has been very limited, but was keen to have a go.

    She finished fourth with a time of 25:05 – 25 seconds from third place and a medal.

    In the under 19 men’s field Oscar Cooper is new to racing in open events and finished with a time of 32:26 for the 18km.

    Josh Sullivan, more into mountain biking but keen to race the clock finished in ninth place with a time of 26:34.

    Thomas McDonald took out the silver medal in 24:13, 24 seconds behind winner Alistair Christie-Johnston from Hawthorn Cycling Club.


    … to read the full story, click here to access the digital edition


  • %d bloggers like this: