• Town title delivers triple win

    web tidy towns 0481
    CHAMPIONS: Iris Mannik, Anne Wilson Jill Jarvis-Wills after the 2017 tidy town award win.

    BEECHWORTH has been named Victoria’s tidy town of the year for 2017 – a title it has held on three occasions – at a presentation in Horsham on Saturday.

    It first was the recipient of the prestigious award in 2009 and then in 2014.

    It was also the national title winner in 2010.

    This year’s presentations were made at a ceremony hosted by the Rural City of Horsham, winner of last year’s tidy town, and attended by more than 150 people.

    Beechworth’s Iris Mannik, who started the town’s entries 24 years ago, said the Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards showcased what the town does.

    “The number of categories has significantly grown, too,” she said.

    Victorian Tidy Towns judge Ron Williamson said dedicated volunteers and others in the community proved themselves worthy of the state award.

    “The town prides itself on being environmentally pro-active and is supported by hard working community groups,” he said.

    “Beechworth tidy town committee’s hard work and commitment is truly outstanding, with the community having finalists in nearly every category of this year’s program.”

    Indigo mayor Jenny O’Connor said Beechworth’s involvement and the town’s recognition over many years was a testament to pro-active and proud community members who participated in the awards and organised entries.

    “The community group’s hard work and enthusiasm for the Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Awards means every year they pull together Beechworth’s application,” Cr O’Connor said.

    … to read the full story, click here to access the digital edition


  • %d bloggers like this: